Edinburgh Global Development Academy Master’s Scholarships

Edinburgh Global Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: Eligible fields
Course Level: Graduate (masters)
Provider: University of Edinburgh
Country to Study in: UK

Scholarship Description
IMPORTANT NOTE (Dec 2016): Please see Edinburgh Global Research Scholarships and Edinburgh Global Online Distance Learning Scholarships.

Every year, the University of Edinburgh offers scholarships to students from both the less developed countries and the UK/EU.

The University will offer master's scholarships covering the overseas rate of fee for students from less developed countries and another set of master's scholarships covering the "home" rate of tuition fee for UK/EU students for eligible Master's programmes offered by the University.

University of Edinburgh

The scholarships covering the overseas rate of fee will be awarded to students who are accepted for admission onto an eligible Global Development Academy programme at the University of Edinburgh.

Applicants must be both nationals of and resident in the countries listed below.

Selection criteria:
The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic merit. Candidates must have, or expect to obtain, a UK first class or 2:1 Honours degree at undergraduate level or the international equivalent.

Eligible groups
Citizens who are also residents of the following countries:
  1. Afghanistan
  2. Angola
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Benin
  5. Bhutan
  6. Burkina Faso
  7. Burundi
  8. Cambodia
  9. Cape Verde
  10. Central African Republic
  11. Chad
  12. Comoros
  13. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  14. Djibouti
  15. Equatorial Guinea
  16. Eritrea
  17. Ethiopia
  18. Gambia
  19. Guinea
  20. Guinea Bissau
  21. Haiti
  22. Kribati
  23. Lao People's Democratic Republic
  24. Lesotho
  25. Liberia
  26. Madagascar
  27. Malawi
  28. Maldives
  29. Mali
  30. Mauritania
  31. Mozambique
  32. Myanmar
  33. Nepal
  34. Niger
  35. Rwanda
  36. Samoa
  37. Sao Tome and Principe
  38. Senegal
  39. Sierra Leone
  40. Solomon Islands
  41. Somalia
  42. Sudan
  43. Timor-Leste
  44. Togo
  45. Tuvalu
  46. Uganda
  47. United Republic of Tanzania
  48. Vanuatu
  49. Yemen
  50. Zambia
  51. Zimbabwe
Countries listed above are defined as least developed nations by the United Nations Composition of macro geographical (continental) regions, geographical sub-regions, and selected economic and other groupings.

For more on this, see United Nations Statistics Division.

Participating Institutions
The University of Edinburgh, Scotland

Fields of Study
Scholarships will be available for students pursuing one of the following Global Development Academy programmes:
  • MSc International Development
  • MSc Africa and International Development
  • MSc Environment and Development
Number of awards
1 Master's scholarship for students from less developed countries and 3 Master's scholarships for UK/EU students

Sponsorship duration
Throughout duration of the masters Programme

Scholarship benefits
Each scholarship for students from less developed countries will cover the overseas rate of tuition fee, while a further two scholarships will cover the UK/EU rate of tuition fee only.

Method of Application
If you have not yet applied for admission to the University of Edinburgh, please do so first before applying for this scholarship.

Eligible applicants should complete an "online scholarship application" which is found on the official website (link to it is below).

Whilst completing this application you will be asked to provide the following:
  • Your personal details;
  • Details of any degrees you hold or expect to hold;
  • A personal statement of no more than 300 words;
  • Any additional information that you believe would assist in evaluating your application;
  • Details of any other scholarships or awards you hold or have held.
It is recommended that you have with you everything that you need to complete this application before you start.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for detailed information and also to access the "Postgraduate Master's Online Scholarship Application Form".

The closing date for applications for this scholarship is 11 April 2014

A Selection Committee will meet in May 2014 to select the scholarship holders. The winners of the scholarships will be announced shortly thereafter.

The University of Edinburgh, founded in 1583, is the sixth-oldest university in the English-speaking world and one of Scotland's ancient universities. The university is deeply embedded in the fabric of the city, with many of the buildings in the historic Old Town belonging to the university.

Application Deadline: 11 April 2014
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: List of Edinburgh Global and non-Global Scholarships

No comments:

Post a Comment