The Crawford Fund Fellowship in Australia for Agricultural Scientists from Developing Countries

Crawford Fund Fellowship

Course(s) Offered: Agriculture, Fisheries, Forestry
Course Level: Training
Provider: The Crawford Fund
Country to Study in: Australia

Scholarship Description
The Crawford Fund is now calling for nominations for the Crawford Fund Fellowship for an Agricultural Scientist for 2011.

The aim of the Crawford Fellowship is to provide further training for an agricultural scientist from a selected group of developing countries whose work has shown significant potential.

The training will take place at an Australian agricultural institution and will emphasise the application of knowledge to increased agricultural production in the Fellow’s home country.

The Fellowship is offered annually to an agricultural scientist below the age of 35 years, from a developing country, who is a citizen of, or who is working in, one the following countries:
  • Bangladesh, 
  • Bhutan, 
  • Burma, 
  • Cambodia, 
  • East Timor, 
  • Fiji, 
  • Indonesia, 
  • Laos, 
  • Nepal, 
  • Niue, 
  • Papua New Guinea, 
  • Samoa, 
  • Solomon Is, 
  • Tonga, 
  • Tuvalu and Kiribati, 
  • Vanuatu or 
  • Vietnam.
Eligible groups
Citizens, or residents of, ANY of the developing countries listed above

Participating Institutions
Any agricultural institution in Australia

Fields of study
International agricultural research - in agriculture, fisheries or forestry.

Agricultural research designed to benefit developing countries (their farmers, their environment and their economies) and to foster mutual understanding can be defined as international agricultural research.

Number of awards
One fellowship funding is awarded each year

Sponsorship duration
Inquire from the sponsor

Scholarship benefits
The Fellowship provides further training of a scientist in agriculture, fisheries or forestry. The Fund promotes and supports international R&D activities in which Australian research organisations and companies are active participants.

Method of Application
To apply, please contact the Crawford Fund on their official website (link to it is below).

The scholarship application deadline date is 1 April 2011

The Crawford Fund Fellowship was established in 2002 with the generous support of Dr Brian Booth AM FTSE.

The Crawford Fund is a non-profit non-government organisation that works to raise awareness of the benefits to Australia and developing countries from international agricultural research, commissions studies on research policy and practice, and arranges specialist training activities for developing country scientists.

Established in June 1987 by the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), the Crawford Fund was named thus in honour of the late Sir John Crawford and commemorates his outstanding services to international agricultural research.

The Crawford Fund depends on grants and donations from governments, private companies, corporations, charitable trusts and individual Australians. It also welcomes partnerships with agencies and organisations in Australia and overseas.

Application Deadline: 1 April 2011
Open to International Applicants: No (ONLY listed countries)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in Australia for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment