Ashden International Awards for Entrepreneurs in Developing Nations (up to £20,000 each)

Apply for an Ashden International Award

Program(s) Offered: Sustainable energy
Program Level: Contest (Entrepreneurship)
Provider: Ashden
Country to Award in: UK

Award Description
If your organisation is a champion of local, sustainable energy, then register your interest in applying for the 2019 Ashden International Award by filling out the required form.

World’s leading green energy awards, Ashden, rewards innovative enterprises and programmes that deliver, or play a key part in enabling the delivery of, renewable energy and energy efficiency at the local level, and through this bring social, economic and environmental benefits.

To win an Ashden Award you must be breaking new ground in sustainable energy. This might include developing new technologies to generate or save energy, increasing access to existing technologies, encouraging low-carbon living or more sustainable travel. Be recognized as an international sustainable energy trailblazer by a globally renowned award scheme.

Ashden International Awards

With the exception of the awards for innovation, the work submitted must have been running for at least a year. All work submitted must have the potential to grow and be easily replicable.

Who can apply for an Ashden International Award?
  • Businesses, NGOs, social enterprises and government organisations are all eligible.
  • The application can be for a specific renewable energy or energy efficiency programme, enterprise or building, or for a specific product or service. This may be the whole work of an organisation or part of it.
  • The work must be proven on the market and have been delivered for at least one year.
  • The work must be delivered in at least one of the UN’s developing regions of Africa, Caribbean, Central America, South America, Asia (excluding Japan) and Oceania (excluding Australia and New Zealand) and can be in rural or urban areas. High-income countries in these regions, as defined by the World Bank, are not eligible to apply.
  • We do not make awards to start-up, pilot or demonstration projects
Ashden seeks pioneering enterprises and programmes demonstrating achievement in any of the following areas:
  • Increasing energy access for homes or businesses, 
  • Sustainable buildings, 
  • Developing innovative financial mechanisms or business models for delivering sustainable energy, 
  • Sustainable travel, 
  • Improving the lives of women and girls through sustainable energy, 
  • Sustainable energy and water.
  • Powering business.
For 2019, see the official website (link to it is below) for specific categories and key criteria

Eligible groups
Citizens of Developing countries (see the list of eligible countries(pdf))

Number of awards
In 2019 Ashden will make ten International Awards

Award benefits
The winners will receive prize funds of up to £20,000 each. As well as this cash fund, winning an Ashden Award brings many other benefits, such as:
  • National and international publicity, through the work of our specialist communications team.
  • A tailored business support programme to help you take your work further: this can include professional mentoring, sales and technical training and introductions to investment and grant finance.
  • Access to new networks and investors:
    • A broadcast-quality short film of your award-winning work.
    • Opportunities to present your work to large and influential audiences at the Ashden Awards ceremony and conference.
    • Membership of the network of Ashden Award winners, who are all leading practitioners in sustainable energy.
    • The acclaim of winning a prestigious Ashden Award.
Method of Application
If your sustainable energy work fits the awards criteria and the particular interests for 2019, you can apply for an Ashden Award by filling in the online registration form at If you would like to discuss whether your work is relevant to the awards or have questions about the application process, please contact the Awards Coordinator at

It is important to read the Ashden Awards FAQs', and also visit the official website (link to it is below) to read some of the case studies of previous winners before applying.

Ashden accepts applications from summer until the autumn, but if you’ve missed the application window you can still register your interest for the following year’s Awards. Applications for the 2019 Ashden Awards opened on 4 September 2018 and close at 11.59 GMT on 6 November 2018

Ashden is a London-based charity that works in the field of sustainable energy and development. Its work includes the annual Ashden Awards, advocacy and research in the field of sustainable energy, and mentoring and practical support for award winners. Sarah Butler-Sloss created the awards in 2001, from the Ashden Trust, one of the Sainsbury Family Charitable Trusts. In 2011 the charity changed its working name to Ashden, with its full name registered with the Charity Commission being 'Ashden, Sustainable solutions, better lives'.

Application Deadline: 6 November 2018
Open to International Applicants: No (ONLY Developing countries)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Entrepreneurship Awards for Developing Countries

No comments:

Post a Comment