Graça Machel Scholarships in South Africa for Women from Select African Countries

Graça Machel Scholarships for Women

Course(s) Offered: Several fields
Course Level: Graduate (Honours, Masters and PhD)
Provider: Canon Collins Trust
Country to Study in: South Africa (including distance learning)

Scholarship Description
Canon Collins Educational and Legal Assistance Trust is proud to offer the Graca Machel Trust scholarships for Southern Africa’s future women leaders – from Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Canon Collins Trust seeks to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society.

The Canon Collins scholarship support both full and part-time study and will consider applications from those who wish to study by distance learning. Canon Collins Trust invites applications for the Graça Machel scholarships for women, for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2016.

To apply for a scholarship under this programme you must be:
  • Female
  • A national of and normally resident in one of the SADC countries: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • In possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • Studying or applying to study at a South African university
Please apply only if you are eligible.

Selection Criteria:
In selecting scholars, the Trust will apply a number of criteria including academic merit, need and the potential to contribute to southern Africa’s future prosperity.

The Trust is looking for future leaders in their fields and therefore demonstrable leadership qualities are important. The past achievements of the applicant, present commitment to further study, as well as their future plans, will be assessed in relation to how that will contribute to the development of southern Africa.

Eligible groups
Citizens of Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Participating Institutions
Universities and institutions of higher learning in South Africa - Distance learning is also acceptable

Fields of study
In early 2015 the Trust revised its South African scholarship awards policy. For the next 3 years the Trust will be offering scholarships only to those studying in three areas:
  • Justice, which includes Law, Economics, Politics and the Environment
  • Education policy and practice
  • Humanities, which includes Literature, History, Anthropology and the Arts
Applications for courses that are not within these areas (for example MBAs, medical sciences, sports sciences, applied sciences) will be rejected.

Number of Awards
Several will be awarded - no set number. The Trust makes awards on the basis of available funding and suitable applicants. It is, however, highly competitive.

Sponsorship duration
Funding is for whole period of study -- up to maximum one year for Honours, two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding will depend on satisfactory progress and academic reports.

Scholarship benefits
Covers full tuition, stipend towards living costs, and other support like travel allowance. In 2016 most awards will be valued at R65,000 for each year of study at Masters and PhD level. In exceptional cases we may offer up to R100,000 per year.

Notes: The Trust also organize an annual conference for current scholars, usually in July, and hold several smaller events throughout the year. Scholarship holders are expected to participate in these activities and to become part of and contribute to our network.

Method of Application
Please apply only if you meet all the criteria. The online application form is of primary importance as it serves as the basis for assessment (found on the Canon Collins Trust website when the call for applications is open). You will find full instructions online when you start a new form. It is your responsibility to ensure that your application is complete and accurate before submitting your application online. All applicants are required to upload the requested supporting documentation.

Applicants must apply to their chosen universities separately and awards are conditional on the applicant being offered a place at the relevant university. If you are offered a Canon Collins/Graça Machel scholarship but fail to get a place on a course, your offer will be withdrawn.

It is important to carefully read the Guidelines for Applicants, and also to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply.

The application process will close at 15:00 GMT on 27 July 2015 for study commencing in 2016.

Late applications will not be considered.

Please do not email the Trust to ask about the outcome of your application. All notifications will be by email so please make sure you provide an accurate email address.

Canon Collins Trust manages this scholarship on behalf of the Graça Machel Foundation. It is generously supported by the Sol Plaatje Educational Trust, MacSteel International, and others.

Application Deadline: 27 July 2015
Open to International students: No (ONLY women from SADC countries)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Top Scholarships for African Women

1 comment: