One Africa Award – A Chance for African Individuals and Organizations to Win US$100,000

One Africa Award for African Individuals and Organizations

Course(s) Offered: MDGs attainment
Course Level: All levels
Provider: ONE Africa
Country to Study in: Africa

Scholarship Description
The ONE Africa Award celebrates innovations and progress towards achievement of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), the world’s blueprint to a better future, ranging from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education.

The organisation is proud to launch the call for applications and nominations for the 2014 ONE Africa Award. The ONE Africa Award aims to recognize, reward, and advance the exceptional work of organizations, founded by Africans and based in Africa, dedicated to helping Africa achieve the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The $100,000 award will bring recognition to innovative African efforts to fight poverty and will incentivize more of such efforts. The award may be split into two prizes in order to award two smaller organizations better able to absorb a smaller monetary award.

Award recipients can be exceptional individuals, organizations or other groups demonstrating commitment and success in assisting Africans in meeting one or more of the MDGs through innovative advocacy based programs.
  • Qualified recipients may be engaged in direct services to achieve any of the MDGs but must demonstrate a strong advocacy component integral to the delivery and success of their programs.
  • Qualified recipients may be advocacy/pressure groups and think tanks engaged in governance activities such as the monitoring of flows of resources and/or holding governments accountable to commitments to MDG attainment.
2014 Award Criteria:
The 2014 ONE AFRICA Award will award best practices by an African organization or individual addressing social development issues through innovative advocacy in promotion of MDG attainment.

Nominated individuals/organizations will be graded in 5 categories and will be awarded between 1-10 points in each of these categories:
  1. Extent to which the individual/organization has designed and implemented an innovative advocacy program that employs new approaches to impact in a given sector(s).
  2. Ability to demonstrate and communicate specific indicators of progress and impact linking work to a given sector(s) in a clear results framework;
  3. Demonstration of the ability to replicate efforts of the individual/ organization to take intervention to scale
  4. Demonstration of strong accountability mechanisms i.e. community leadership consultations/ involvement in programs, transparency of operations
  5. Extent to which the individual/organization has employed creative partnerships to achieve its goal and ensure coordination with other development actors. These partnerships may include public and/or private sector players.
The eligible organizations must be founded by Africans and be based in Africa. Evidence of success in previous projects as well as funding support for previous project activities must also be included.

Eligible groups
Individual citizens, organizations or groups of AFRICAN origin.

The eligible organizations must be founded by citizens of the African Union’s member states and be registered and based in a member state of the African Union. Evidence of success in previous projects as well as funding support for previous project activities must also be included.

Award benefits
BONUS: For the 2014 prize, organizations that demonstrate innovative ideas and approaches towards projects, initiatives and plans to make popular the POST2015 development agenda in their community/country or region will receive up to 5 bonus points in the scoring of their applications.

The successful organizations will clearly demonstrate results already obtained through these efforts.

Method of Application
To apply, download and fill in the 'Application Form' from the official How to Apply page of the website.

Please complete each section of the application and attach the required supplemental documents by 23:59 SAST / 21:59 GMT/UTC of the deadline date below according to the submission guidelines.

Please send your completed application to:

Silver Stream Office Park
1st Floor, Main Building
10 Muswell Road
Bryanston 2194
South Africa

Or via email to:

Your submission must be submitted by 23:59 SAST / 21:59 GMT/UTC Friday, September 12, 2014 according to the submission guidelines.

All entries sent by mail must be received by this deadline regardless of postage date.

Shortlisted applications will undergo a due diligence process in September.

ONE will informally review the award winner’s project activities and progress a year following the receipt of the award.

Application Deadline: 12 September 2014
Open to International students: No (ONLY Africans)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: List of scholarships for study in Africa

No comments:

Post a Comment