TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme for Scientists from Developing Countries

TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme

Course(s) Offered: Biotechnology
Course Level: Graduate (postdoctoral research)
Provider: TWAS, DBT
Country to Study in: India

Scholarship Description
The Department of Biotechnology (DBT) of the Ministry of Science and Technology, India, and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) have established a fellowship programme for foreign scholars from developing countries who wish to pursue postdoctoral research in biotechnology.

The goal of the TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme is for young scientists from developing countries to carry out postdoctoral research at key biotechnology research institutions in a developing country other than their own i.e. India.

Each year, the TWAS Fellowship Programme offers a number of fellowships to young scientists from developing countries. The programme operates under agreements with governments and national organizations in developing countries.

TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme

Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria:
  • Be a maximum age of 45 years on 31 December of the application year.
  • Be nationals of a developing country (other than India).
  • must not hold any visa for temporary or permanent residency in India or any developed country.
  • Hold a PhD degree in bioscience or biotechnology.
  • Be regularly employed in a developing country and hold a research assignment there.
  • Be accepted at a biotechnology institution in India (see sample Acceptance Letter included in the application form). N.B. Requests for acceptance must be directed to the chosen host institution(s), and NOT to DBT.
  • provide evidence of proficiency in English, if medium of education was not English;
  • provide evidence that s/he will return to her/his home country on completion of the fellowship;
  • not take up other assignments during the period of her/his fellowship;
  • be financially responsible for any accompanying family members.
Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL developing countries (other than India)

Participating Institutions
Approved key biotechnology research institutions in India. The language of instruction is English.

To help candidates in their choice of a suitable host institution a list of biotechnology institutes in India is available here: List Biotechn_India (pdf). However, candidates are free to choose an Indian biotechnology institution that does not appear on the list.

Fields of study
Postdoctoral research in biotechnology. The language of instruction is English.

Number of awards
Currently, there are ten fellowship programmes for postdoctoral research

Sponsorship duration
TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at key biotechnology research institutions in India for a minimum period of 12 months to a maximum period of 18 months.

Scholarship benefits
DBT will provide a monthly stipend to cover for living costs, food and health insurance. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency. In addition, the fellowship holder will receive a house rent allowance.

Method of Application

Applicants should submit the Acceptance Letter from an Indian biotechnology institution to TWAS when applying or by the deadline at the latest. Applicants will have until the deadline to submit the Acceptance Letter to TWAS. Without preliminary acceptance, the application will not be considered for selection. In regard to Reference Letters, your referees must send signed letters as attachments via e-mail directly to TWAS. The subject line must contain: DBT/PDoc/ candidate's surname.

Should you have applied to or availed any Indian fellowships (especially INSA JRD TATA and JNCASR-CICS) in the current or previous year this must be clearly specified in the application form. Applications for the TWAS-DBT Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme should be submitted to TWAS and CICS (via the new online portal). Before applying it is recommended that you read very carefully the application guidelines for detailed information on eligibility criteria, deadlines and other key requirements of the application procedure.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below).

The call for this fellowship opens in June, and the deadline for receipt of applications is 31 August of each year. But deadline for this year will be 25 July 2017

Applicants should be aware that they can apply for only one fellowship per year. With the exception of the Visiting Scientists programme, all other fellowship programmes offered by TWAS and OWSD are mutually exclusive.

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is a merit-based science academy uniting 1,000 scientists in some 70 countries. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South (i.e. Africa, Latin America, and developing Asia including the Middle East). Its headquarters are located on the premises of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy. It was named "Third World Academy of Sciences" until 2004 and "TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world" before September 2012.

Application Deadline: 25 July 2017
Open to International students: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in India for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment