Nominate a #BadassWomanJourno today for the Courage in Journalism Award!

Courage in Journalism Award

Program(s) Offered: Media, Journalism
Program Level: Awards
Provider: IWMF
Country to Work in: Any country

Scholarship Description
The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for the Courage in Photojournalism Awards to honor women journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery. In facing and surviving danger to uncover the truth, they raise the bar for reporting under duress.

The IWMF also recognize the pioneers who kicked down barriers to make it possible for women all over the world to find their voices and make them heard. Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Award can be full-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country.

The Courage in Journalism Awards show people that female journalists are not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honors the brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths. These women demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and extraordinary strength of character, overcoming unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry.

IWMF Courage in Journalism Award

Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers, or producers working in any country and of any nationality.

Competitive candidates will have a strong commitment to press freedom and be well-respected journalists whose dedication to journalism is exemplified by a willingness to continually put their life or their freedom at risk to produce a body of work in the face of government oppression, political pressure, physical danger or other intimidating obstacles.

Although preferred languages for submissions are English, French, Russian and Spanish, submissions in any language will be considered.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL countries

Number of awards
So far, we have honored more than 100 groundbreaking journalists in 56 countries

Scholarship benefits
The Award includes a cash prize of $20,000.

Method of Application
Do you know someone whose work merits joining the ranks of the International Women’s Media Foundation’s (IWMF) Courage in Journalism Awardees? Candidates must currently be full-time or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast or online media in any country. Stand up for press freedom and support women who report against the odds by nominating someone today!

To submit a nomination for someone, visit the IWMF’s Submittable page to create an account. Before you start the nomination process, please make sure you have assembled the following documents:
  • Description of the conditions under which the candidate works;
  • Description of specific instances where the candidate has faced danger because of her work, such as government oppression, torture, threats to family, defamation or imprisonment;
  • Nomination statement describing why this journalist merits consideration for the IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Award. The nomination statement is a very important part of the selection process. Please explain in detail how your candidate meets the qualifications using specific examples to illustrate the candidate’s courage and determination in support of press freedom. Nominators are encouraged to read short biographies of previous award winners.
Applications are available in English, French, and Spanish!

The 2018 deadline for all nominations is 16th March 2018

Sexual harassment, threats, attacks, government oppression, a stubborn glass ceiling, unequal pay, accusations of fake news and a growing mistrust of the media all threaten press freedom around the world. And female journalists often feel the greatest brunt of these attacks. In fact, the number of female journalists killed in 2017 more than tripled from the year before.

The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF), located in Washington, D.C., is an organization working internationally to elevate the status of women in the media. The IWMF has created programs to help women in the media develop practical solutions to the obstacles they face in their careers and lives.

Application Deadline: 16th March 2018
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Women Scholarships for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment