African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards (USD100,000 Fund)

African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award Edition 2016
Call for Applications

Program(s) Subjects: Science, Technology
Program Level: Research Award
Provider: African Union Commission
Country to Study in: Africa

Scholarship Description
The African Union Commission, in partnership with its Development Partners, offer the Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for African scientists from African Union AU Member States in disciplinary fields that include agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and energy innovation (among others).

Under the African Union Scientific Award Programme, prizes are awarded to top African scientists in two categories. The objective is to recognize, award and honor outstanding excelling African Scientists women, men alike and younger researchers for their scientific achievements, discoveries and innovations.

The program seeks to recognize outstanding science at the continental level, for which it awards a prize of US$100 thousand. It also makes regional scientific awards of US$20 thousand each. Additionally, the African Union Commission in collaboration with National Academy of Science will award the National Young Scientists Award of USD2,000 to outstanding young scientists.

This programme is implemented in three levels as below:
  1. The Continental Award is open to all African scientists and is the highest level of the programme. It is implemented by the African Union Commission.
  2. The Regional Award level is implemented in partnership with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs). It aims at promoting the participation of African women in Science, Technology and innovation.
  3. The National Young Scientists Award is implemented by Member States who have signed an Implementation Agreement with the AU Commission and its implementation partner TWAS. At the national level, the programme is implemented through National Academy of Science or National Research Councils. This award is intended for young scientists both men and women (Aged not more than forty (40) by 31 December of the year of organization of the Award).
The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements applicable to the prevalent challenges in Africa.

Eligible groups
Citizens of the following African regions and countries:
  • Central African Region: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe. 
  • Eastern Region: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda. 
  • Northern Region: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Tunisia, SADR. 
  • Southern Region: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe. 
  • Western Region: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.
Categories of Award
Prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors:
  1. Life and Earth Science; and 
  2. Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.
Number of awards / Scholarship benefits
The value of the Continental Scientific Award shall be US$100,000 (One hundred thousand US Dollars for each scientific sector) conferred by the African Union Commission on two award winners.

The number and value of each of the awards are as follows:
  • For the Continental Award - Two successful winners of the award each receives the current prize of 100,000USD during the Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2017.
  • For the Regional Award level - Two winners per region receive a prize of 20,000USD each.
  • For the National Young Scientists Award - Two winners per country receive a prize of 2,000USD each for the 2017 edition.
Method of Application
For applications to the Regional Award level, kindly contact the implementation RECs as outlined in the rules of procedure. For the National Young Scientists Award, the agreement can be obtained from TWAS via e-mail:

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on this awards.

Applications open August 04, 2016. The closing date for the applications for the Continental and Regional award is 31st October 2016 and for the National awards kindly contact National Academy of Science or National Research Councils

The African Union Commission launched the prestigious African Union Scientific Award Programme on 9 September 2008 with the support of its Development Partners particularly the European Commission. This program raises the profile of science and technology sector in the African Union Member States and Africa as a whole and thus contributing to Africa’s sustainable development, poverty alleviation and integration efforts.

Application Deadline: 31 October 2016
Open to International students: No (ONLY Africans)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Australian Government Award Scholarships for 1000 African Students

No comments:

Post a Comment