Erasmus Mundus Scholarships in Journalism, Media and Globalization for Masters Students

Erasmus Mundus Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: Journalism, Media, Globalization
Course Level: Graduate (Masters)
Provider: Erasmus Mundus
Country to Study in: Europe, America, Australia

Scholarship Description
The Erasmus Mundus Master’s in Journalism, Media and Globalisation, offered since 2012, welcomes applications from graduate students around the world. You can apply for an Erasmus Mundus scholarship, or as a self-funded student.

The Mundus Journalism Consortium is able to offer a limited number of ‘Erasmus Mundus’ student scholarships for students entering the programme from 2012 – 2016. The scholarships are divided into category A and B scholarships.

During the admission process, all applications are assessed and graded in each of the categories below:
  • Academic background: The applicant’s academic ability, previous academic record and academic references.
  • Journalism experience: Based on the applicant’s examples of journalistic work and references.
  • Motivation: Based on the applicant’s personal statement – strong, clear statement that demonstrates the applicant’s motivation, commitment and relevant skills.
  • Life experience: Based on the applicant’s personal statement, CV and reference letters – cultural awareness, organisational skills, language ability, international experience, etc.
  • Language skills: In addition, applicants are expected to have a minimum Academic IELTS band score of 7.0 if they are not native English speakers (we only accept IELTS tests). Applicants who want to study at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chili are expected to submit a certified copy of their DELE results or other documentation of their Spanish skills if they are not native Spanish speakers.
For the 2014-16 edition of the Mundus Journalism programme the consortium will award:

1). Erasmus Mundus Category A scholarships for third country (non-EU) students
Category A scholarships are expected to be worth €47,000 for the 2016-2018 programme.

Category A scholarships can be awarded to students from countries other than the 28 EU member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Nederlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain) and the EEA-EFTA states (Norway, Lichtenstein, Iceland).

Furthermore, you must comply with the 12 months rule: you are not a resident nor have carried out your main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the above mentioned countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Additional Category A scholarships are expected to be available within the Windows Scheme for a limited number of students from:
  • Western Balkans and Turkey (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo)
  • ENPI South (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Occupied Palestinian Territory)
  • ENPI East (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine)
2). Erasmus Mundus Category B scholarships for European (EU/EEA) students and others
Category B scholarships are expected to be worth €34,000 for the 2016-2017 programme.

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any student who does not fulfil the criteria for a category A scholarship. The Category B scholarships are connected to the ‘Study Abroad’ programme at our non-European partners (Please find further details in the application form).

European students who are granted a Mundus scholarship will have to study module 5 and 6 in the spring semester at one of our international partner universities: University of California at Berkeley; University of Technology Sydney; and Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile.

Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL countries

Participating Institutions
A consortium of eight universities from Europe, North and South America, and Australia runs the Erasmus Mundus Journalism Master’s.

Fields of study
Journalism, Media and Globalization

Number of awards
Not specified

Sponsorship duration
It cover the whole duration of the program

Scholarship benefits
Category A scholarships (for international students) are expected to be worth €47,000. Category B scholarships (for European students) are expected to be worth €34,000.

Method of Application
To apply for the Mundus Journalism programme you will have to fill in an online application form as well as sending an email with a PDF-version of the required documents. It is strongly recommended that you carefully read the guidelines for the admission and application process before downloading the required forms.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information and to commence your applications.

Both the application form and ALL supporting documents must be sent in on or before the deadline of 10th January 2016, otherwise your application cannot be considered.

The Mundus Journalism Master's is a two-year, truly transnational degree providing a solid foundation for analysing and reporting global changes. It aims to produce theoretically grounded and highly reflexive journalism candidates with transnational, global views on the intersection of journalism, media and globalisation.

Behind the degree stands a tightly integrated and experienced consortium of five European and three non-European universities. With students studying at up to four different universities during the programme, the depth of learning on offer is equalled by the breadth of different teaching styles and methods that participants have access to during their studies.

Application Deadline: 10 January 2016
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in the Social Sciences for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment