African Union Mwalimu Nyerere Scholarship Scheme for Young African Students with Physical Disability

AU Scholarship Call for Applicants with Physical Disabilities

Course(s) Offered: Several fields
Course Level: Graduate (masters)
Provider: African Union
Country to Study in: Africa

Scholarship Description
The Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme is for young African students with permanent physical disabilities to undertake a full time Masters programme in African Universities with appropriate facilities and good services for the disabled students.

The Scholarship Scheme is intended to enable young Africans to study in leading African Universities with a binding agreement that beneficiaries will work in an African country for at least the same duration of scholarship period after graduation.

Applications are currently ongoing for the 2016 Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme for Physical Disabled Students.

African Union Mwalimu Nyerere Scholarship Scheme for Young African Students with Physical Disability

Physical disabilities include: visual impairments (partial or total loss of sight, blindness), Hearing impairments (hardness of hearing, deafness) and Mobility impairments (partial or total physical functional limitation). To be eligible for the Special Scholarship, a candidate must:
  • Be a Citizen of an African Union Member State.
  • Have a physical disability.
  • Be under the age of thirty five (35) years.
  • Be a holder of a Bachelor’s Degree in the relevant field, at the level of Upper Second Class Honours. The degree must be from a reputable University.
  • Have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as evidenced by academic transcripts, and academic awards if any.
  • Have proof of admission to undertake a full time Masters programme in a recognized university of an African Union Member State.
  • Be willing to commit to work in an African Union Member State on completion of studies for at least three (3) years.
Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL African Union Member States:
Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Participating Institutions
All accredited African Universities and Institutions of Higher Learning (with appropriate facilities and good services for disabled students). In order to promote intra-Africa student mobility, candidates are encouraged to seek admission to universities in countries other than their own.

Fields of study
For Full time Masters in Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Engineering, Mathematics, Education Sciences and Sports Sciences

Sponsorship duration
The Masters programme should be of two years duration. Candidates must complete all academic work within the specified period of the programme (no longer than two years) as this scholarship is not renewable and cannot be extended.

Scholarship benefits
The scholarship award covers the following:
  • Tuition Fees: Maximum for two academic years.
  • Stipend: 500 US$ monthly, to support living expenses such as housing, food, utilities, local transportation and medication.
  • Book Allowance: An allowance of 500 US$ per year for the purchase of books and other supplies.
  • Air ticket: A round-trip economy fare for the most direct route between the beneficiary’s home country and the study destination of host Institute.
  • Travel Allowance:
    • One-off payment of 250 US$ to contribute towards ground transportation from airport and settling-in costs
    • One-off payment of 350 US$ to assist with shipping and other terminal expenses; upon departure from the host Institution after successful completion of the study.
  • Computer Allowance: One-off payment of 1,000 US$ for the purchase of laptop computer and accessories.
Method of Application
Interested candidates should complete the Application Form in PDF format as well as the EXCEL Applicants’ Data Sheet, which are available on the Africa Union web-site. The applicants should submit their formal application which should include all the documents listed out in the 'Scholarship Call for Physical Disabilities' (found on the official website). Note that Electronic Copies of all the documents should be submitted.

Applicants must scan and produce electronic copies of all the documents (converted to PDF format) and send to the following e-mail address: In addition two (2) sets of hard copies of the documents must be sent by post to the specified address in the 'Scholarship Call for Physical Disabilities' (found on the official website).

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) to download the 'Application Form', the 'Applicant's Data Sheet' and the 'Scholarship Call for Physical Disabilities' (available in English, French, Arabic and Portugese) for complete information on how to apply for this award.

The current call opened on February 3rd, 2016; and the closing deadline date for applications is  scheduled for March 31st, 2016.

The Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme was launched in 2007 with the aim of contributing to the production and retention of high calibre African human capital for sustainable development of the continent in critical development areas, while promoting regional integration through intra-African mobility of students.

The African Union (AU) is a union consisting of 54 African states. The only African state that is not a member is Morocco. The AU was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa to replace the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Application Deadline: 31 March 2016
Open to International Applicants: No (ONLY Africans)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in Africa for African & non-African Students

No comments:

Post a Comment