Africa Farmer Organisation of the Year Awards (AFOYA) Competition for African Farmers

2014 AFOYA Competition

Award(s) Offered: Agriculture (farming)
Award Level: Competition
Country to Award in: Malawi

Award Description
The African Investment Climate Research (AFRICRES), in partnership with The Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) and Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU) is organising the 2014 Africa Farmer Organisation of the year Awards.

Farmer organizations (FOs), in Africa, are important support vehicles for raising smallholder farmers’ incomes and livelihoods by providing services that are demand-driven and income enhancing to their members.

To enhance image and credibility of FOs; Setting performance standards for FOs; To enhance competitiveness and aspiration among FOs and To promote peer learning and networking, AFRICRES, in partnership with AGRA and SACAU will be organizing the Annual Africa Farmer Organization of the Year Award (AFOYA) in Lilongwe, Malawi.

To be eligible, your FO must be registered and resident in Africa and must be in active operation for at least two years.

FOs must be Members governed.

  • Regional (Apexes)1 FOs are NOT eligible.
  • FOs with Tobacco and broadly prohibited narcotics in their value chain
KEY: 1 => The Apex FOs are those representing FOs across several countries within the five African Regions

Eligible groups
Only for Africans

Participating Institutions
All FOs registered across the length and breadth of Africa

Fields of awards
The awards will be presented at a gala dinner to successful Farmer Organisations in recognition of their sterling achievements, in five key areas that are used to measure successful FOs:
  1. Governance and Accountability;
  2. Income diversity; 
  3. Advocacy; 
  4. Female and youth participation and 
  5. Access to market.
Number of awards
The awards will be presented in SIX categories as outlined below:

1. Governance and Accountability
This is an award for a FO that scores highest on governance and accountability to its members.

2. Income Diversity Award
This is an award for a FO with the highest score on diversified portfolio of its income sources and which manifests sustainability.

3. Female and Youth Participation Award
FOs must include as many young people and women in its activities. This award is given to a FO that scores highest for an active participation of these groups in its activities.

4. Advocacy
The FO must be doing remarkably well with policy advocacy and networking for the good of its members.

5. Market Access Award
This award is given to a FO that scores highest on market access for the inputs and produce of its members.

6. Africa FO of the Year Award (AFOYA)
The overall FO of the Year recipient will be selected from the winners of the categories shown above.

Sponsorship duration

Scholarship benefits
The 2014 Africa FO of the year will also be crowned at the awards ceremony.

A one-day conference, which will take place on the day before the awards, will attract prominent speakers with expertise in the broader area of agricultural value chain systems.

Method of Application
If you believe your FO is eligible, and you want to apply, follow the steps below:
  1. Complete the entry form template found on the official website (link to it is below) and email it to the provided email by 30 June 2014, at 17.00 Hours South Africa time.
  2. The nominee should supply audited or verifiable financial statements from 2010 to 2013 or latest audited financials or management accounts (Income and Expenditure Accounts)
  3. Application information should be directed to: Dina Potgieter; Africagrowth Institute; Tel: (021) 914 6778, Fax: (021) 914 4438; Email:
FOs are welcome to compete in ONLY ONE of the five categories, that is, 1-5 as listed above under 'Number of awards'.

Entrants must fill all questions. Incomplete entries will be disqualified. The document should be completed in MS Word as far as possible and entrants must use the template to make inter-FO comparisons possible.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply.

Deadline for submission of entries and material is on 30th June, 2014.

Finalists are to be notified on 31st August, 2014; while deadline for awards banquet and media releases to announce winners is on 13th November, 2014.

The event is a follow-up to the, very successful, 2013 Africa Farmer Organisation Awards and Conference which took place in Accra (Ghana) on the 28th of November 2013. The event attracted government ministers, NGOs, senior civil servants, regional and national Farmer Organisations together with smallholder farmers throughout Africa.

Submissions will be judged by an independent panel of experts drawn from the public, government and private sectors as well as from apex organisations. Judges reserve the right not to award a winner in any category if they do not find entries that reach the desired standard. The decision of the judges is final.

The entry form must be accompanied by a signed membership list and full names and telephone contacts of all management committee members.

Application Deadline: 30 June 2014
Open to International Applicants: No (ONLY Africans)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Full Tuition Scholarships in Italy for Africans

No comments:

Post a Comment