Chevening/Commonwealth Broadcasting Association Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Chevening/CBA Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: Broadcast-related subjects
Course Level: Graduate (masters)
Provider: CBA / Chevening
Country to Study in: UK

Scholarship Description
For up-to-date calls, see Chevening Scholarships for Commonwealth Countries.
The Commonwealth Broadcasting Association (CBA) is the world’s largest association of public broadcasters. They provide a leading forum for knowledge exchange, and support members in the changing digital media landscape.

For 2014/15 the Chevening Scholarship programme, in partnership with the University of Westminster, University of East Anglia, London City University London, International Students House, Goodenough College and the CBA will co-fund up to three Scholarships.

These Scholarships are available to full time staff of CBA's member organisations (full members and affiliates) from developing countries in the Commonwealth. The Scholarships are for one-year postgraduate courses in broadcast-related subjects at London City University, the University of East Anglia and the University of Westminster. Applications for 2014/15 Chevening/CBA Scholarships are now open.

Chevening/Commonwealth Broadcasting Association Scholarships

Applicants must be from the countries listed below (see 'Eligible groups') are eligible to apply.

Candidates must be full-time staff of CBA’s member organisations (full members and affiliates) from eligible developing countries. Please check the CBA’s list to make sure your organisation is a member.

Candidates must meet Chevening’s eligibility criteria (including English language requirements) before submitting their application.

Candidates must also meet the eligibility requirements of the university to which they are applying.

Eligible groups
Citizens of developing countries in the Commonwealth, including:
Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Bangladesh, Brunei, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bahamas, Barbados, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts, St Vincent and the Grenadine, Trinidad and Tobago, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, and Tonga.

Participating Institutions
Courses will be taken at London City University, the University of East Anglia and the University of Westminster.

Fields of study
Postgraduate level (M.A.) courses in broadcast-related subjects. The MA courses funded are:
Number of awards
Up to three Scholarships

Sponsorship duration

Scholarship benefits
The Scholarships cover tuition fees and accommodation and subsistence. Returned airfare must be paid by the member organisation.

Method of Application
Applicants must complete the relevant application form for each university, as well as submitting an online application for a Chevening Scholarship.

Applicants should thoroughly read the Guidance for Applicants and the Terms and Conditions for Chevening Scholarship Awards as these contain important information on what details to include in your application. In particular, the Guidance for Applicants contains step by step instructions on what to enter when completing an eChevening online application form for a Chevening/Commonwealth Broadcasting Association Scholarship.

General application deadline date is 15 November 2013. However, individual country deadlines are available on the country pages.

Applicants must complete the relevant application form for City University London, the University of East Anglia or the University of Westminster, as well as submitting an online application for a Chevening Scholarship.

The Commonwealth Broadcasting Association [CBA] is the largest global association of public service broadcasters. Its members are the broadcasters that communicate daily with the two billion citizens of the Commonwealth.

The CBA continues to support and facilitate high standards of media production and broadcasting, including the promotion of arts, science and diversity, throughout the Commonwealth.

Supporting public service broadcasting through digital transition is currently the key focus of the CBA. Facilitating member broadcasters to build capacity in a way that encourages and supports greater audience interaction is now a core objective of CBA - it is also a way of enabling the voices of Commonwealth citizens to be heard and their views and opinions shared in the spirit of media that is free, independent and empowering.

Application Deadline: 15 November 2013
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: UK Scholarships for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment