Directory of Monotechnics in Nigeria

In addition to several Federal-owned, State-owned and Privately-held universities; Nigeria also has more than 60 Colleges of Education; and a host of tertiary technical and vocational institutions and colleges.

Technical education is offered in institutions that are higher education in level, but non-university in status. Polytechnics, monotechnics (single-discipline training), technical colleges and colleges of education, of agriculture and of health technology all provide higher technical education and training. Monotechnic colleges provide instruction in a single technical subject; and thus are very specialised institutions.

With the exception of colleges of education, which itself is overseen by the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE); the rest of the technical higher institutions are overseen by the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE).

Brief history
The Federal Government had established the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) by Act 9 of January 1977; in response to the acute shortage of technical manpower which was a major constraint towards the execution of the then Third National Development Plan on education in 1975-80.

The NBTE was then saddled with overseeing the training of, and accreditation of academic programmes in all Technical and Vocational Education (TVE) institutions. These institutions were to train middle-level technical manpower, and provide practical training.

There are currently, as at October 2012, 110 approved tertiary technical institutions and 159 technical colleges under the purview of the Board including 74 Polytechnic and 27 Monotechnic Colleges, 36 Colleges of Agriculture, 50 Colleges of Health Technology, 16 Other Specialised Institutions, 71 IEIs and VEIs and 132 Technical Colleges.

Entry Qualifications
Entry into non-university higher education institutions is based on performance in both the SSCE (with a minimum of 4 credits at not more than two sittings) and in the Monotechnics, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education (MPCE) Examination conducted by JAMB.

Polytechnics and institutes of technology award the Ordinary National Diploma (OND) on the successful completion of a two-year programme. The Higher National Diploma (HND) can be taken as a two-year programme following the completion of the Ordinary Higher Diploma and one year of relevant work experience.

The Professional Diploma is open to holders of the HND and takes at least eighteen months post-HND to complete. The Professional Diploma allows for progression to Masters level nationally. Colleges, universities, specialised training institutes and professional bodies offer various certificates and diplomas that may be obtained after one, two or three years. Many of the colleges now award degrees (Bachelor of Technology).

General Information
The schools' academic year runs from October to September. English Language, the official lingua fraca in Nigeria, which is also the language of instruction at all levels of education from kindergarten to phD level, is the medium of instruction.

Directory Listing of Monotechnics/Specialised Institutions in Nigeria:

  1. Air-Force Institute of Technology, NAF,
    Mando, Kaduna.

  2. Federal College of Chemical & Leather Technology,
    Zaria, Kaduna State

  3. Federal Cooperative College
    Ibadan, Oyo State.

  4. Federal Cooperative College

  5. Federal Cooperative College,
    Oji River, Enugu State.

  6. Federal College of Statistics,

  7. Federal College of Statistics,
    Ibadan, Oyo State

  8. Federal College of Statistics,

  9. Federal School of Mines,
    Jos, Plateau State.

  10. Federal School of Survey,

  11. Federal Training Centre,

  12. Federal Training Centre,

  13. Federal Training Centre,

  14. Federal Training Centre,

  15. Maritime Academy of Nigeria,
    Oron, Akwa Ibom State.

  16. Metallurgical Training Institute,
    Onitsha, Anambra State.

  17. National Water Resources Institute,
    Mando, Kaduna.

  18. Nigerian Army School of Engineering,
    Makurdi, Benue State.

  19. Nigerian Army School of Finance, Administration,
    Apapa, Lagos State.

  20. Nigerian Army School of Signals
    Apapa, Lagos State.

  21. Nigerian Naval Engineering College,
    Sapele, Delta State.

  22. NITEL Training School,
    Oshodi, Lagos State.

  23. Petroleum Training Institute,
    Effurun, Delta State.

  1. College of Administration and Business Studies,
    Konduga, Borno State.

  2. College of Administration and Business Studies,
    Potiskum, Yobe State.

  1. Nigerian Institute of Journalism (NIJ),
    Lagos State

  2. Wavecrest College of Catering,
DISCLAIMER: The above list was correct as at the time of publishing (October, 2012). Study & Scholarships is NOT responsible for any incompleteness as new schools may be created from time to time.
NOTICE: If your school is NOT listed, post details stating monotechnic name (including state located in), web address, and any other relevant information you may wish to share (e.g number of courses offered) by using the "Post a comment" link below.

SOURCE: NBTE: List of Institutions with contact addresses under the purview of NBTE - 2012; UTME Brochure 2012-2013. At all times, see NBTE website for most current list.

No comments:

Post a Comment