New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters and PhD Students from Commonwealth Countries

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: Priority fields
Course Level: Graduate (masters, PhD)
Provider: New Zealand Government
Country to Study in: New Zealand

Scholarship Description
As part of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) programme, New Zealand offers the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships for postgraduate study (Masters and PhD) in New Zealand universities to candidates from developing Commonwealth countries on a contestable basis.

The purpose of the scholarships is set out in the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, with the following key principles to: 1). promote mutual cooperation and share educational experience among all Commonwealth countries, 2). be available across the Commonwealth, and 3). recognise and promote the highest level of intellectual achievement.

The CSFP, established since 1959, is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. The New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are highly competitive and for top level graduates.

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships

Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:
  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
  • Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
  • Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.
Selection criteria:
  • Preference will be given to candidates who demonstrate strong academic ability, leadership qualities, and a commitment to the development of their home country.
  • Preference is also given to candidates who are 39 years of age or younger at the time of commencing their scholarship.
  • Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to priority sectors.
Eligible groups
Eligible Countries include:
  • Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia
  • Caribbeans: Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Asia: Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
  • Pacific: Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
Participating Institutions
Commonwealth Scholarships scholars study at one of New Zealand's 10 universities or institutes of technology, at a Pacific university, at an English language training provider in South East Asia, or through a training programme in New Zealand.

It's important to find a tertiary institution that will meet your personal as well as academic needs. Each institution specialises in different subjects. For complete details, see where you can study.

Fields of study
Scholarships are offered for subjects in priority sectors that are relevant to the development needs of your country. This is so you can contribute to making a real and positive difference to your country when you return home at the end of your scholarship. The priority sectors are also where New Zealand has expertise. For complete details, see what you can study.

Sponsorship duration
The NZCS are available for the following postgraduate qualifications: Masters Degree (1 – 2 years) AND PhD (up to 3.5 years)

Method of Application
If you would like to apply for a New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship please note the following: You may only apply using the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship Application form as a hard copy. Please note that applicants are unable to apply online. You must submit your application to your local Nominating Agency.

The following steps can only be completed once the online application portal opens on 1 February 2018.

Step 1: Prepare to apply
  • Check that you meet all eligibility criteria.
  • Follow the steps under 'Getting Started'. (The selection process is very competitive and your choice of study must align to one of these sectors to go on to be shortlisted.)
  • If you want to pursue a PhD or a Masters by Thesis you should also start contacting and securing a potential supervisor for your PhD. You will need to have a Letter of Support from a supervisor should you go on to be shortlisted.
    Step 2: Complete your application form
    • Download and print the 2017 Application Form (Application Form for 2018 selection will be available to download here when applications open on 1 February 2018.). Additional copies may also be available at your local nominating agency (address found on the Application Form) or at selected New Zealand High Commissions.
    • Complete all sections of the application form, and make sure you have attached the additional documents required.
    Step 3: Submit to your nominating agency
    • Deliver to your country's nominating agency by the deadline below. The nominating agency will review all applications received and select the two candidates that best meet the eligibility conditions, preference factors and priority sectors for their country. Note: any applications received directly from applicants will not be considered.
    It is important to read the  Paper Application Guidance page and visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on this scholarship and applying to it.

    Applications open 1 February and must arrive at your country’s Commonwealth Nominating Agency by 28 March, 2018. [Please contact your local Nominating Agency for submission. Addresses are found on the Application form you download.]

    The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings – the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition. Each Commonwealth government has designated a national agency for the operation of Commonwealth Scholarships.

    The New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships is funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme and managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT). The selection process in New Zealand is managed by Universities New Zealand.

    Application Deadline: 28 March 2018
    Open to International students: Yes

    More Scholarship Information and Application

    Related: Commonwealth Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

    1 comment:

    1. For the case of Uganda who nominates candidates because some of Ugandan issue are done on 'whose son' bases. I am worried I may miss because of nominees.