IFAR’S Professional Development Program 2011

IFAR’s Professional Development Program in 2011 will consist of the annual IFAR Small Grants Program, including the Ravi Tadvalkar Memorial Scholarship, and the Wilfried Thalwitz Scholarship.

Study Subject: Agriculture and related subjects
Employer: IFAR
Level: Hold a Graduate Degree

Scholarship Description:
In support of its mission, IFAR annually provides small grants to professionals from national agricultural research systems in developing countries (NARS). The award made to the youngest woman grantee each year will be designated the Ravi Tadvalkar Memorial Scholarship, in recognition of the many contributions to the organization by IFAR’s first Treasurer and Secretary, his commitment to capacity building in developing countries, and his concern about diversity and gender issues.

IFAR also manages the IFAR Wilfried Thalwitz Scholarship established in his memory by the family and friends of the late CGIAR Chair for research linked with CGIAR Centers. The objectives of IFAR’s grants are to:

(a) Enhance the professional development of promising professionals from developing countries, who are at the early to middle stages of their careers, and undertaking research in partnership with CGIAR Centers to support sustainable development of agriculture in developing countries;
(b) Promote values gained from a “System Perspective” involving linkages between CGIAR Centers and NARS, and collaboration among CGIAR Centers;
(c) Encourage cooperation among national institutions through linkages with CGIAR Centers.

(a) all applicants are expected to hold a graduate degree;
(b) grants are not intended to finance regular undergraduate or graduate academic programs, in whole or in part.

Number of IFAR grants: In 2011,
(a) Up to 12 grants will be awarded under the IFAR Small Grants Program.
(b) One additional scholarship will be granted to the applicant selected for the Thalwitz Scholarship.
(c) Each grant awarded will be for up to a maximum of $11,000. Of this amount, $1,000 will be sent through the sponsoring Center to each award winner for his/her use on purchases of appropriate books, journals, or equipment. The remainder will be disbursed by the sponsoring Center to meet expenditures in support of the Awardee’s work program. CGIAR Centers and partner institutions in developing countries are expected to support the work program in cash or in kind.

Scholarship Application Deadline: March 15, 2011

More Scholarship Information and Application

No comments:

Post a Comment