Islamic Development Bank (IDB) Prize for Women’s Contribution to Development

IDB Prize for Women’s Contribution to Development

Program(s) Offered: Development fields
Program Level: Prize Awards
Provider: Islamic Development Bank
Country to Study in: Any country

Scholarship Description
The Islamic Development Bank established the IDB Prize for Women's Contribution to Development in 2006 to draw international attention to the vital role women play in developing their communities and the world.

The IDB Prize for Women aims to Recognize, Encourage, Inspire and Reward women’s participation in the socio-economic development process. The Prize is administered by the IDB through the Capacity Development Department and the IDB Women’s Advisory Panel in collaboration with its academic advisor, Effat University.

Applications for the 13th Edition (1438H – 2018) IDB Prize is currently ongoing with a deadline for nominations on 30 November, 2017.

The general criteria applied in selecting and assessing nominations for the Prize for both individuals and organizations include the following:
  • Impact - Individuals and organizations nominated should exhibit projects that have contributed to the improvement of the socio-economic status of women and helped them to build their capacities.
  • Creativity - Individuals and organizations nominated should have projects/activities that are outstanding, innovative and unique
  • Outreach - Individuals and organizations nominated should have mechanisms for extending their projects/activities to surrounding areas to ensure their services are offered to as many women as possible.
  • Sustainability - Individuals and organizations nominated should have projects/activities that are sustainable
Eligible groups
Citizens (and organizations) in ALL countries may participate

Participating Institutions
Islamic Development Bank (IDB)

Theme and Topics
The Prize focuses on a specific theme each year. In order to highlight various issues shaping our world and their specific effects on women, the theme of the Prize varies each year and is further specified into topics for the individual and organization categories.

The IDB in consultation with the IDB Women’s Advisory Panel determines the yearly theme for the Prize. The IDB refines the theme and topics, establishes the specific criteria of selection and develops the nomination forms.

Scholarship benefits
The Prize consists of two cash awards: US$50,000 for a woman or a group of women, AND US$100,000 for an organization. The Prize is awarded during the Annual Meeting of the IDB Board of Governors.

Method of Nomination / Application
To apply, you must visit the official webpage to download the "BROCHURE" (available in Arabic, English and French) and also the "Application Form for ORGANIZATIONS" or the "Application Form for INDIVIDUALS" (all available in Arabic, English or French).

To Nominate or Request Information, Please Contact;

Capacity Development Department
Islamic Development Bank
P.O. Box 5925 Jeddah 21432
Saudi Arabia
Tel: +966 12 646-6787/6722
Fax: +966 12 646-7828

Or alternately care of any one of the IDB Regional/Gateway Offices: at Rabat (Morocco), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Almaty (Kazakhstan), Dakar (Senegal), Turkey or Indonesia. See official webpage for specific addresses.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to nominate/apply for this award

The deadline for nominations is 30 November, 2017

The winners for both the individual and organization category are chosen by a Selection Committee and are announced during the Annual Meeting of the IDB Board of Governors. The Selection Committee is composed of five distinguished women. Members are annually chosen and selected based on their extensive experience in the field of the related theme and topics. The committee is comprised of members from the IDB Women’s Advisory Panel and subject specialist.

The Islamic Development Bank (IDB) is a multilateral development financing institution located in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. It was founded in 1973 by the Finance Ministers at the first Organisation of the Islamic Conference (now called the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation) with the support of the king of Saudi Arabia at the time (Faisal), and began its activities on 20 October 1975.

Application Deadline: 30 November 2017
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarship Awards for African and non-African Women

No comments:

Post a Comment