UNESCO/Israel Co-Sponsored Fellowships for Developing and Least Developed Countries

UNESCO/Israel (MASHAV) Co-sponsored Fellowships Programmes

Course(s) Offered: All academic subjects
Course Level: Post-doctoral, Research
Provider: UNESCO, Israeli Govt
Country to Study in: Israel

Scholarship Description
Within the framework of UNESCO’s Co-Sponsored Fellowships Scheme, a joint programme is being launched with Israel’s Planning and Budgeting Committee of the Council for Higher Education, and, the Israel National Commission for UNESCO, with a view to promoting post-doctoral study and research.

The goal of the UNESCO/Israel (MASHAV) Co-sponsored Fellowships Program is to promote human resource capacities in the developing countries through intensive training and to enhance international understanding and friendship among peoples of the world and the people of Israel.

All applications for the academic year 2010 Cycle must be submitted and also received on or before the deadline date indicated below.

UNESCO/Israel (MASHAV) Co-sponsored Fellowships Programmes

Applicants must meet the following general criteria:
  • Be from a developing country listed below.
  • Candidates must have received within three years their PhD degree.
  • Only candidates with the necessary qualifications, who demonstrate outstanding intellectual promise and personal qualities, shall be considered under this programme.
  • Candidates must be able to integrate an on-going research programme being conducted at one of the universities/institutes listed above.
  • Candidates must be able to communicate in English and are required to provide the TOEFL scores (Test of English as a Foreign Language) obtained.
  • Applicants must be in good health, both physically and mentally.
Eligible groups
Special attention will be given to candidatures on behalf of women and from the Least Developed Countries (LDCs). The programme is designed to identify and reward deserving, committed and talented young women and men from UNESCO developing member countries:

Africa (32 Member States):
Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African, Chad, Comoros, Docratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Togo, United Republic of Tanzania, Swaziland, Zambia

Asia and the Pacific (16 Member States):
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu

Europe (21 Member States):
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lirthuania, Poland, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine

Latin America and the Caribbean (27 Member States):
Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Uruguay, Venezuela

Arab States (2 Member States):
Mauritania, Yemen

Participating Institution(s)
  1. The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  2. The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
  3. Tel-Aviv University
  4. Bar-Ilan University
  5. The University of Haifa
  6. Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  7. The Weizmann Institute of Science
  8. The Open University of Israel
See the website (link below) for contact details of the participating universities.

Fields of study
Open to all academic subjects with priority given to engineering, sciences and water technology

Number of Awards
Ten (10) fellowships will be awarded to post-doctoral candidates from developing countries interested in undertaking research in state-of-the-art universities/institutions in Israel.

Scholarship Benefits
An all inclusive lump-sum contribution equivalent in local currency to US$20,000 per year for each selected beneficiary to support her/him during study/research in Israel. The amount offered should cover the international travel costs for the approved itinerary, accommodation, meals, books, local transportation, telephone expenses, medical insurance, and, incidentals, etc.

NOTE: No provision to finance or lodge family members is made. Facilities will not be available to provide appropriate living conditions, and, the amount of the fellowship is adequate only for the living expenses of the fellow himself/herself.

Method of Application
For the 2010 Cycle, the closing date for submission of documents to UNESCO by applicants approved by Israeli universities is 30 October 2010.

Potential candidates are encouraged to submit their applications as soon as possible, as each participating university/institute may reach its quota and close the enrolment for this programme before this date.

The closing date for submission of documents to UNESCO by applicants approved by Israeli universities is 30 October 2010

Additional information and assistance can be obtained by contacting directly either the university/institute in Israel where placement is desired, or, the Embassy (or the representatives) of Israel in the candidate’s country. Only the listed universities/institutes in Israel can provide ample information on study/research being currently conducted by them.

UNESCO Fellowships Programme Section
7, Place de Fontenoy, 75700 Paris, France
Emails of contact persons can be found here.

Application Deadline: 30 October 2010
Open to International students: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in Israel for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment