TWAS Research Fellowships for Young Scientists from Developing Countries

Fellowships for young scientists:
TWAS Fellowships for Research and Advanced Training

Course(s) Offered: Natural sciences
Course Level: Graduate (research, advanced training)
Provider: TWAS
Country to Study in: Any country

Scholarship Description
The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) offers fellowships to young scientists in developing countries to enable them to spend between three and twelve months at a research institution in a developing country other than their own.

These Fellowships for Young Scientists are for research and advanced training. They are offered to young scientists holding at least an MSc or equivalent degree.

The purpose of these fellowships for young scientists is to enhance the research capacity of promising scientists, especially those at the beginning of their research career, helping them to foster linkages for further collaboration.

TWAS Fellowships for Research and Advanced Training

Eligible applicants for the fellowships are young scientists working in any area of natural sciences who are citizens of a developing country and are employed by a research institution in a developing country.

There is no age limit. However, preference is given to young scientists at the beginning of their research career and those working in Least Developed Countries.

It is important to note that applicants cannot apply for fellowships tenable in their home country, for instance an Indian applicant applying for a fellowship tenable in India will be considered ineligible. Applicants already in the host country are also ineligible.

Institutes of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China, are not eligible host institutions under this programme. Applicants interested in conducting a fellowship in China are required to check whether their chosen host is a CAS institute. For a complete list of CAS institutes, click here. Applicants wishing to attend a CAS institute should apply to either the TWAS-CAS Postgraduate or the TWAS-CAS Postdoctoral Fellowship programmes.

Selection Criteria:
Fellowships are awarded by the TWAS Fellowships Committee on the basis of scientific merit.

Eligible groups
Citizens of ANY developing country. See list of Least Developed Countries.

Participating Institutions
Any research institution in any developing country. Fellowships are provided for South-South visits only, i.e. for visits by researchers from developing countries to institutions in other developing countries.

Fields of study
Any area of the natural sciences

Number of awards
Not specified

Sponsorship duration
The fellowships are offered for a minimum of three months and a maximum of twelve months.

Scholarship benefits
TWAS covers international low-cost airfare plus a contribution towards subsistence amounting to a maximum of US$ 300 per month. No other costs will be provided by TWAS. The host institution is expected to provide accommodation and food as well as research facilities.

Method of Application
Applicants may apply to only one TWAS Fellowship Programme per year. Applications should be completed in English. Do note that there are two parts to this fellowship application. Part 1 of the application form should be completed by the applicant and the head of the applicant's HOME institution, and sent to the TWAS secretariat. Then, Part 2 must be sent by the applicant to the head of the institution he/she intends to visit, together with a copy of Part 1 (for information).

The application form must be downloaded from the official website. Before applying it is recommended that you read very carefully the document for detailed information on eligibility criteria and other key requirements of the application procedure. Note that applications cannot be considered unless Part 2 has been completed by the head of the host institute.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information and for the link to download the fellowship application form

The call for applications is open from 1 March until 1 October of each year. The deadline for receipt of both parts of the application is 1 October 2017.

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is a merit-based science academy uniting 1,000 scientists in some 70 countries. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South (i.e. Africa, Latin America, and developing Asia including the Middle East). Its headquarters are located on the premises of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy. It was named "Third World Academy of Sciences" until 2004 and "TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world" before September 2012.

Application Deadline: 1 October 2017
Open to International Applicants: Yes (ONLY Developing Countries)

More Scholarship Information and Application
More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in Country for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment