Canon Collins Trust Scholarships for Postgraduate Study in South Africa

Scholarships for Postgraduate Study in South Africa

Course(s) Offered: Several fields
Course Level: Graduate (Masters, PhD)
Provider: Canon Collins Trust
Country to Study in: South Africa

Scholarship Description
Canon Collins Trust invites applications for scholarships for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2016.

In early 2015 the Canon Collins Trust revised its South African scholarship awards policy. For the next 3 years (2016-2018) the Trust will be offering scholarships only to those studying in the three areas indicated below.

Applications for courses that are not within the below-mentioned areas will not be considered for an award. Please read on for the current information.

Canon Collins Trust Scholarships

In addition to other requirements on this page, to apply for a scholarship under this programme you must:
  • be a national of, or have refugee status, in one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe;
  • be normally resident in one of the above countries;
  • be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • be studying or applying to study at a South African university.
Applicants will be expected to show their commitment to the development of their country and region.

Eligible groups
Citizens of the ten countries of Southern Africa mentioned above

Participating Institutions
Accredited Universities and/or Institutions of higher learning in South Africa

Fields of study
For the next 3 years (2016-2018) the Canon Collins Trust will be offering scholarships only to those studying in the following three areas:
  1. Justice, which includes Law, Economics, Politics and the Environment
  2. Education: policy and practice
  3. Humanities, which includes Literature, History, Anthropology and the Arts
The Trust welcomes applications for support from eligible scholars whose programme of study falls into one of these disciplines. Applications for courses that are not within these areas (for example MBAs, medical sciences, sports sciences, applied sciences) will not be considered for an award.

Number of awards
Not specified by the sponsors

Sponsorship duration
The trust will provide funding for up to a maximum of two years for Masters and three years for PhD. Continued funding depends on satisfactory progress and academic reports.

Scholarship benefits
In 2017 most awards will be valued at R65,000 for each year of study at Masters and PhD level. In exceptional cases the Trust may offer up to R100,000 per year. The Trust supports both full and part-time study and will consider applications from those who wish to study by distance learning.

The Canon Collins Trust also organises an annual conference for current scholars, and holds several smaller events throughout the year. Scholarship holders are expected to participate in these activities and to become part of and contribute to its network.

Eligible applicants will automatically be considered for these named scholarships:
  • Ros Moger and Terry Furlong
  • Patrick and Janet Stuart
  • Lionel Cliffe
  • VC Scholarship at Fort Hare
  • Sol Plaatje Canon Collins Scholarships
Method of Application
Applications are available through the online application form found on the official website. You will find full instructions online when you start a new form. All sections of the form need to be completed before the system will allow the application form to be submitted. Information can be saved and the application form edited until the applicant chooses to submit.

All applicants are required to upload the requested supporting documents, which include: Copy of degree certificates, if available; Certified academic transcripts; Reference letters from two referees; ID document (the following are acceptable: passport, birth certificate, driver’s license); etc.

It is important to read the guidelines(PDF) carefully and also to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on this scholarship award.

Applications open on Wednesday, 15 June 2016, and close on 15:00 GMT on Monday, 15 August 2016

Canon Collins Trust seeks to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society.

These scholarships are supported by the Ros Moger / Terry Furlong Fund. Ros and Terry were inspirational London educationalists. Since 2001 friends and family have raised funds in their memory and awarded scholarships, especially in education, health, humanities and the arts.

Women wishing to pursue postgraduate study in South Africa may also be interested in the Gra├ža Machel Scholarships.

Application Deadline: 15 August 2016
Open to International Applicants: No (Only Southern Africans)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in South Africa for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment