Excellent Young Women Scientists Prize

Excellent Young Women Scientists Prize

Course(s) Offered: Natural sciences
Course Level: Graduate
Provider: TWOWS
Country to Study in: Africa, M/East, S/America, SE/Asia

Scholarship Description
The Third World Organization in Science (TWOWS) is offering the Excellent Young Women Scientists Prize for women from the developing world who are in science.

TWOWS is now accepting nominations of excellent young women scientists from throughout the developing world. TWOWS Prizes have been established to recognize women scientists working and living in developing countries who have made significant contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge.

A prize of US$5,000 will be awarded to the best young female natural scientist from each of the four regions of the developing world including Africa, in the ongoing Excellent Young Women Scientists Prize.

Nominees must be female nationals of a developing country aged 45 or under on 31 December 2009 who must have lived and worked in a developing country for a least the past 3 years.

Nominees must have received their most recent degree (Masters or PhD) within the previous 10 years.

Eligible groups
Citizens of the following developing country regions:
Africa, Middle East, South America and South-East Asia

Participating Institutions
All academic institutions with women in developing countries are eligible

Fields of study
All graduate areas in the natural sciences are covered

Number of awards
Each year a total of four winners will be selected, one from each of the participating developing country regions

Scholarship benefits
Each winner will receive USD 5,000, generously contributed by TWAS.

Each prize also carries a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.

Method of Application
Nominees for this prize must be made and sent to TWOWS before the deadline date below. You will need to download and fill in an official nomination form. For more prize information and application, see the Excellent Young Women Scientists Prize Website (link to it is below).

Deadline for all applications is 15th January 2010

The third world organization in science (TWOWS) was drawn up to encourage women to be part of the science world. This organization is independent and non-profit and works for women in science. Its headquarters is Italy, TWAS, and Trieste. TWOWS is coming from the OWSD (Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World) that appreciate the postgraduate women in science by honoring the brilliance of the women scientists with an award.
At the fourth general meeting and international conference held in 2010, members adopted the name - Third world organization in science (TWOWS) - the primary reason for this organization is to inspire women to initiate their career in science for developing nations.

Application Deadline: 15 January 2010
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Scholarships in Asia for International Students

No comments:

Post a Comment