Commonwealth Professional Fellowships in the UK for Developing Commonwealth Countries

Commonwealth Professional Fellowships

Course(s) Offered: Any priority area
Course Level: Postgraduate (research fellowship for professional development, courses, conferences)
Provider: CSC
Country to Study in: UK

Scholarship Description
The Commonwealth Professional Fellowships are offered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC).

The Commonwealth Professional Fellowships support mid-career professionals from developing Commonwealth countries to spend a period of time with a UK host organisation working in their field for a programme of professional development. The Fellowships aim to enhance the skills of mid-career practitioners in developing countries.

The CSC is currently inviting applications for the Commonwealth Professional Fellowships at a UK host institution.

Commonwealth Professional Fellowships

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Professional Fellowship, candidates should:
  • be Commonwealth citizens, refugees or British protected persons, and must be permanently resident in a Developing Commonwealth country
  • normally have at least five years’ relevant work experience in a profession related to the subject of the application, by the proposed start of the Fellowship.
  • be available to commence their Fellowship within prescribed dates as stated on the CSC website
  • not have undertaken a Commonwealth Professional Fellowship in the last five years
  • not be seeking to undertake an academic programme of research or study in the UK. Academics are eligible to apply for the scheme, but only to undertake programmes of academic management, not research or courses relevant to their research subject
Selection criteria
Within the priority areas below, applications will be judged on the following criteria:
  • the extent to which the proposed Fellowship will ensure the transfer of skills relevant to the needs of a Commonwealth developing country
  • the extent to which those skills will lead to practical benefits for the developing country following the Fellowship
  • the extent to which the Fellowship will have a ‘catalytic effect’, either within the developing country concerned, or in establishing new relationships with the UK
Eligible groups
Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons who are resident in a developing Commonwealth country

Participating Institutions
Organisations in any sector in the UK can apply to host a Professional Fellowship. Professional, charitable, public and/or private sector organisations in the UK that have set up a programme and identified a Fellow or Fellows who they wish to nominate are eligible.

Fields of study
Programmes must have demonstrable development impact in the Fellow’s home country and the Fellow must be able to show how the knowledge and skills they will gain during the Fellowship will be disseminated after their return home.

Priority will be given to the areas of: agriculture/fisheries/forestry, economic growth, education, engineering/science/technology, environment, governance, and public health. It is emphasised, however, that each of the themes can be broadly defined.

Number of awards
Several -- Organisations can apply to host up to six fellows at one time

Sponsorship duration
For programmes of between one and six months (though typically for three months). Justification is required for awards of more than three months.

Scholarship benefits
Fellowships cover the living expenses for the Fellow as well as a return airfare to the UK. It also provides funding support to the host organisation, with a budget of up to £3,000 available for attendance at conferences, on short courses, and other eligible costs. See official site for more.

Method of Application
If you are nominated by a UK organisation for a Commonwealth Professional Fellowship, you will be asked to complete an application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). If your application does not include two references – one from your current employer – it will be considered ineligible. You must check with your referees that they have submitted their references via the EAS by the application deadline.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply for this scholarship.

The deadline for applications for 2016 (Round 2) Commonwealth Professional Fellowships is 23:59 (BST) on 12 September 2016. You must liaise with your host/nominating organisation well in advance of this date to agree a deadline to complete the EAS, so that the organisation can submit the full application by the official deadline.

The CSC wishes to promote equal opportunity, gender equity and cultural exchange. Applications are welcome from the many different races and origins that comprise the Commonwealth’s rich variety of cultures, traditions and institutions. The CSC does not accept direct applications from candidates and cannot provide a list of UK organisations that are willing to host Fellowships.

Application Deadline: 12 September 2016
Open to International students: Yes

More Scholarship Application and Application

Related: Commonwealth Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries

No comments:

Post a Comment