UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (USD $150,000 Prize) for Individuals, Institutions and Organizations

UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development

Program(s) Offered: Education (for Development)
Program Level: Award
Provider: Government of Japan
Country to Work in: Several countries

Scholarship Description
The UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development honours outstanding projects by individuals, institutions and organizations related to Education for Sustainable Development (ESD).

The Prize and award winners recognize the role of education in connecting the social, economic, cultural and environmental dimensions of sustainable development. The Global Action Programme on ESD (GAP) calls for scaling up of ESD action at all levels as a means of implementing all the Sustainable Development Goals.

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD, which is funded by the Government of Japan, consists of three annual awards of USD 50,000 for each recipient. It was awarded for the first time by the DIrector-General of UNESCO in November 2015 .

UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development

The three Prize winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations made by an international independent Jury consisting of five experts.

The project/programme of the nominee are assessed by the Jury on the basis of the following criteria:

A) Transformation:
The project/programme practices Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as transformative education in support of sustainable development, , leading to individual and social change.

B) Integration:
The project/programme addresses the three dimensions of sustainable development (society, economy, environment) in an integrated way.

C) Innovation:
The project/programme demonstrates an innovative approach to ESD.

In addition to these three criteria, the project/programme should:
  • be ongoing and have been running for at least four years
  • have a high impact relative to the invested resources
  • be replicable and scalable
  • contribute to one or more of the five Priority Action Areas of the GAP.
Eligible groups
Individuals, institutions, organizations or other entities engaged in Education for Sustainable Development (ESD). Nominations must focus on a specific ESD project or programme of the nominee, meeting the eligibility criteria.

Scholarship (Price) benefits
The prize consists of three annual awards of USD 50,000 for each recipient.

Method of Application
Nominations can be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO by Governments of Member States via their Permanent Delegation to UNESCO, and by Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO. Each Permanent Delegation or NGO can make up to three nominations for any edition of the Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.

To submit nominations:
1. Complete the Online Nomination Form - The nomination form must be completed online in English or French via a platform accessible through the UNESCO website at this link (for nominating entities only - the fields of the nomination form can be viewed here).

2. Submit the Online Nomination Form - Nominations have to be submitted in the online system by the concerned Permanent Delegations to UNESCO or the NGO by midnight of the deadline date below. Time is in UTC+1, Paris time. Kindly note that each Permanent Delegation or NGO may not submit more than three nominations.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on this prize.

Nominations have to be submitted in the online system by midnight of 3 May 2018 (UTC+1, Paris time)

For any questions regarding the UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD or the submission process, please contact the Secretariat of the Prize at the Section of Education for Sustainable Development and Global Citizenship of UNESCO: esdprize@unesco.org

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD was established by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session within the framework of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on ESD and officially announced at the UNESCO World Conference on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan).

Application Deadline: 3 May 2018
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Awards for Academics and Non-Academics

No comments:

Post a Comment