Microsoft Research Graduate Women’s Scholarship Program in the USA for both U.S and Non-U.S Scholars

Graduate Women's Scholarship Program

Course(s) Offered: Comp Sci., Electrical Eng, Maths (or related)
Course Level: Graduate (PhD)
Provider: Microsoft Research
Country to Study in: USA

Scholarship Description
The Microsoft Research Graduate Women’s Scholarship is a one-year scholarship program for outstanding women graduate students and is designed to help increase the number of women pursuing a PhD.

This program supports women in the first year of their graduate studies. Women who are interested in this scholarship must apply during first year of graduate studies. Scholarships are granted by Microsoft Research at the discretion of Microsoft.

All U.S and non-U.S female students in first year of a graduate program and attending a U.S. or Canadian school are eligible.

Criteria for eligibility:
  • Nominees for the Microsoft Research Graduate Women's Scholarship Program must be nominated by their universities, and their nominations must be confirmed by the office of the chair of the department. Direct applications from students are not accepted.
  • Student must attend a U.S. or Canadian university and be enrolled as a full-time graduate student in the Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, or Mathematics departments (if your department is within the scope of these areas, but is titled differently, you are eligible).
  • Students must be enrolled in their first year in a graduate program in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, or Mathematics for academic year 2014–2015. If a student has already completed graduate-level coursework in any subject area, prior to their first year in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, or Mathematics, then the student is not eligible for the Scholarship program.
  • A maximum of three applicants per department, per university will be accepted. A total of nine applicants total per university will be allowed.
  • Payment of the scholarship awards, as described above, is made directly to the university. The recipient must remain enrolled in a graduate program during the 2015–2016 academic year or forfeit the award.
Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL countries (U.S and non-U.S citizens from any other country are eligible).

Participating Institutions
All approved U.S. and Canadian schools/institutions of higher learning. The following US universities are participants in the Microsoft Research Women’s Fellowship in the 2016–2017 academic year:
  1. Carnegie Mellon University
  2. Cornell University
  3. Georgia Institute of Technology
  4. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  5. Stanford University
  6. University of California at Berkeley
  7. University of Illinois, at Urbana Champaign
  8. University of Texas at Austin
  9. University of Washington
Fields of study
PhD level studies in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, or Mathematics departments (if your department is within the scope of these areas, but is titled differently, you are eligible)

Number of awards
In the past, a maximum of three applicants per department, per university was accepted, and a total of nine applicants total per university was allowed. However, the selected list of academic universities will each award this fellowship to one woman per university

Sponsorship duration
Scholarships are awarded for one academic year only and are not available for extension or renewal. The recipient must remain an active, full-time student, enrolled in graduate programming during the academic year of the award or forfeit the award.

Scholarship benefits
The scholarship recipient award is US$20,000 for the 2016–2017 academic year -- $18,000 will be applied toward tuition costs, and $2,000 will be allocated toward travel allowance and fees for attending a conference in the fellowship recipient’s field of study.

Method of Application
If you are pursuing, or plan to pursue, a PhD at one of these select universities and are interested in applying to receive the Microsoft Research Women’s Fellowship, contact the department chair in your field of study. Applications are accepted only when submitted via the online application tool by eligible university department chairs or their designee (students may not apply directly). Emailed or hard copy applications are not considered.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply for this scholarship award.

Applications usually start from August 14 and ends on October 16.

Incomplete applications cannot be considered and notification of incompleteness will not be made.

If you received a Microsoft Research Graduate Women's Scholarship you may receive another scholarship from another company or institution for the same academic period.

Due to the volume of submissions, Microsoft Research cannot provide individual feedback on applications that do not receive Scholarship awards. Applications submitted to Microsoft will not be returned. Microsoft cannot assume responsibility for the confidentiality of information in submitted applications. Therefore, applications should not contain information that is confidential, restricted, or sensitive. Microsoft reserves the right to make public information from applications that receive awards, except those portions containing budgetary or personally identifiable information.

Please direct any additional questions to your university department chair or contact Microsoft directly.

Application Deadline: 16 October 2016
Open to International students: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Government Scholarships for Developing Country Students

No comments:

Post a Comment