October 25, 2012

Directory of State Universities in Nigeria

In addition to Colleges of Education, Polytechnics, Federal-owned and Private-owned universities, Nigeria also has a number of universities owned and funded by its many state governments.

Nigeria organised into 36 states and a federal capital territory (FCT) in Abuja, expanded its tertiary education to reach all of its subregions, following the oil boom years of the 1970s. In those days, the federal government and the state governments were the only bodies licensed to operate universities in Nigeria.

In recognition of the need to encourage private participation in the provision of university education, the Federal Government established a law 1993, allowing private sectors to establish universities following guidelines prescribed by the Government. Recently, therefore, licenses have been granted to individuals, corporate bodies and religious bodies to establish private universities in Nigeria.

The National Universities Commission (NUC), the accreditation body of every university in Nigeria, enforces uniform standards and sets admissions capacity for each university. Currently, as at October 2012, there are 37 Federal and State owned Universities respectively, and 50 Private Universities.

Nigerian universities generally award the undergraduate Bachelors, postgraduate Masters degrees and the doctoral and postdoc in several disciplines; with many also awarding Pre-Degree and Degree Foundation Diplomas, various Certificate courses and postgraduate Diplomas (PGD). The official lingua fraca in Nigeria, which is also the language of instruction at all levels of education from kindergarten to phD level, is the English Language.

It is pertinent to note that the academic year of the various universities, although incessantly disrupted by non-ending strings of strike actions by ASUU, run from October to September annually; and undergraduate candidates are expected to select two Universities, two Polytechnics, and two Colleges of Education while registering for the Jamb UTME, which is a unified undergraduate matriculation examination for admission into Nigerian tertiary institutions. Entry requirements for most undergraduate courses include a minimum of Five O’ Level Credit passes to include English Language and Mathematics at not more than two sittings in SSCE, GCE or NECO Examinations.

Jamb Direct Entry is an opportunity provided for candidates with advanced level qualifications to gain undergraduate admission into tertiary institutions. Jamb DE candidates register for and apply directly to their institution of choice. Jamb does not conduct any direct entry exams, candidates access the universities based on their A Level and O Level performance. Universities, however, may decide to conduct a Jamb direct entry screening test.

For postgraduate study, it is advisable to contact the admissions department of your institution of interest for detailed information and possible financial aid details, if available for your course of study.

Directory Listing of approved State Universities in Nigeria:

  1. Abia State University, Uturu.
    Website: http://www.absuu.net
    Year Founded: 1980

  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
    Website: http://www.adsu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2002

  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba.
    Website: www.ajasin.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1999

  4. Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo
    Website: http://www.akutech.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2004

  5. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma,
    Website: http://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1980

  6. Anambra State University of Science & Technology, Uli
    Website: http://www.ansu-edu.net
    Year Founded: 2000

  7. Bauchi State University, Gadau
    Year Founded: 2011

  8. Benue State University, Makurdi.
    Year Founded: 1992

  9. Bukar Abba Ibrahim University, Damaturu.
    Website: www.baiu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2006

  10. Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar
    Website: http://www.crutech.net
    Year Founded: 2004

  11. Delta State University Abraka
    Website: www.deltastate.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1992

  12. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
    Website: http://www.ebsu-edu.net; http://www.ebsu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2000

  13. Ekiti State University
    Website: www.unad.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1988

  14. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
    Website: www.esut.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1981

  15. Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe
    Website: http://www.gomsu.org
    Year Founded: 2004

  16. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
    Website: http://www.ibbuniversity.com
    Year Founded: 2005

  17. Ignatius Ajuru University of Educ., Rumuoumeni
    Website: http://www.rsuoe.edu.ng/
    Year Founded: 2010

  18. Imo State University, Owerri
    Website: http://www.imsu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1992

  19. Kaduna State University, Kaduna
    Website: http://www.kasuportal.net, http://www.kasu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2004

  20. Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil
    Website: http://www.kustportal.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2000

  21. Kebbi State University, Kebbi
    Website: http://www.ksusta.com, http://www.ksusta.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2006

  22. Kogi State University Anyigba
    Website: http://myksuportal.com
    Year Founded: 1999

  23. Kwara State University, Ilorin
    Website: http://www.kwasu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2009

  24. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
    Website: http://www.lautech.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1990

  25. Lagos State University Ojo, Lagos.
    Website: http://www.lasunigeria.org
    Year Founded: 1983

  26. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
    Website: http://www.nsukonline.com
    Year Founded: 2002

  27. Niger Delta Unversity, Yenagoa
    Website: http://www.ndu.edu.ng.tripod.com
    Year Founded: 2000

  28. NorthWest University, Kano
    Year Founded: 2012

  29. Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago-Iwoye
    Website: http://www.oou-ng.com
    Year Founded: 1982

  30. Ondo State University of Science & Technology, Okitipupa
    Website: http://www.osustech.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2008

  31. Osun State University, Oshogbo
    Website: http://www.uniosun.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2006

  32. Plateau State University, Bokkos
    Website: www.plasu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2005

  33. Rivers State University of Science & Technology
    Website: http://www.ust.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 1979

  34. Sokoto State University, Sokoto
    Year Founded: 2009

  35. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu-Ode
    Website: http://www.tasu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2005

  36. Taraba State University, Jalingo
    Website: www.tsunigeria.net
    Year Founded: 2008

  37. Umaru Musa Yar'Adua University, Katsina
    Website: http://www.umyu.edu.ng
    Year Founded: 2006
DISCLAIMER: The above list was correct as at the time of publishing (October, 2012). Study & Scholarships is NOT responsible for any incompleteness as new schools may be created from time to time.
NOTICE: If your school is NOT listed, post details stating university name (including state located in), web address, and any other relevant information you may wish to share (e.g number of courses offered) by using the "Post a comment" link below.

SOURCE: NUC: List of Nigerian Universities - 2012; UTME Brochure 2012-2013. At all times, see NUC website for most current list.