Commonwealth Split-site PhD Scholarships for Citizens of Developing Commonwealth Countries

Commonwealth Split-site (PhD) Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: All disciplines (but development-related)
Course Level: Graduate (PhD)
Provider: UK Govt (DFID)
Country to Study in: UK

Scholarship Description
The UK Department for International Development (DFID) funds and offers the Commonwealth Split-site (PhD) Scholarships for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries to support up to 12 months’ study at an eligible UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in that candidate's home country, under the joint supervision of home country and UK academics.

The purpose of the Split-site (PhD) Scholarships is to widen access to UK equipment and expertise for quality doctoral candidates from Commonwealth countries, and to contribute to UK and Commonwealth higher education and research through collaboration and partnerships. Thus, contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

You can apply for the 2017/18 Commonwealth Split-site (PhD) Scholarship if you are eligible.

Commonwealth Split-site (PhD) Scholarships

Intended beneficiaries must be high-quality graduates who have the potential to become influential leaders, teachers, or researchers in their home countries, and whose proposed research has a developmental and leadership focus.

To apply for these scholarships, you must:
  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be registered for a PhD at a university in your home country by the time your award is confirmed
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2017
  • By October 2017, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates.

Selection criteria:
Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:
  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the plan of study
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country
Eligible groups
Citizens of ALL Developing Commonwealth Countries

Participating Institutions
Any UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement. See list of UK universities which have part funding agreements with the CSC

Fields of study
All subject areas are eligible (although the CSC’s selection criteria give priority to applications that demonstrate the strongest relevance to development). Your final qualification will be awarded by your home country university (not the UK university).

Sponsorship duration
Up to 12 months. The 12-month period of study in the UK can be taken at any stage during your PhD study, providing this is justified in your study plan. It can be divided into two or more periods, with no more than 12 months elapsing between each award term.

If you have not already started your PhD at the time of your application, you will be eligible to spend a maximum of six months in the UK in your first year of study.

The scholarship does not support your period of study at your home country university.

Scholarship benefits
A Commonwealth Split-site Scholarship covers full tuition fees for one year at the UK host university, stipend (living allowance) for up to one year in the UK, return airfare, and other allowances. The scholarship does not support the period of study at the home country university.

Method of Application
You must make your application directly to the CSC using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). See full information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides. You are not required to apply via a nominating body for these scholarships.

Your application must be made in the context of a departmental/institutional link with a UK university already in operation or currently under negotiation. Applications without supporting statements from both your home country supervisor and your proposed UK supervisor will be considered ineligible.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) for complete information on how to apply for this scholarship. In addition, you will find on that website useful resources to research your choices of institution and course of study in the UK.

All applications must be submitted by 23.59 (GMT) on 31 October 2016 at the latest.

You are advised to complete and submit your application as soon as possible, as the EAS will be very busy in the days leading up to the application deadline.

You must provide the requested supporting documentation (i.e. Supporting statement from UK supervisor, Supporting statement from home supervisor, Reference from at least one other individual AND Transcripts) to be received by the CSC by 6 January 2017 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration.

Please note that the CSC does not charge candidates to apply for any of its scholarships or fellowships through its Electronic Application System (EAS), and it does not charge organisations to nominate candidates.

Application Deadline: 31 October 2016
Open to International Applicants: Yes

More Scholarship Information and Application

Related: Medical Fellowships || Academic Scholarships || Professional Fellowships

No comments:

Post a Comment